Board of Directors

Chair: Jamar M. Wheeler, Ph.D.

Dr. Jamar M. Wheeler is a Louisville native who recently earned his Ph.D. in Applied Sociology from UofL. He is a proud duPont Manual High School alum and works as an independent research consultant. Jamar is a true believer in the power of service and excited to chair a board that strives to build bridges between impacted communities and policymaking stakeholders. His passion for environmental justice was kindled by the legacy of community advocates and his work with the UofL Superfund Research Center’s Community Engagement Core.

Treasurer: Elizabeth Ann Hagan-Grigsby

Ann Hagan-Grigsby was raised in Washington, D.C. where she graduated from George Washington University with a Bachelor’s degree in Biology prior to attending University of Louisville School of Medicine and the Johnson and Johnson/UCLA Health Care Executive Program. Ann has also earned a Master’s in Business Administration from University of Phoenix. Before moving to Louisville, Ann was employed in the Science Policy Research Division of the Library of Congress as an Editorial Assistant.  She also worked as a Medical Research Technologist conducting Membrane Biophysics Research at the University of Louisville Kidney Disease Program and Assistant Director/Allied Health Coordinator for the West Louisville Area Health Education Center.  Ann is currently employed as the Chief Executive Officer of Park DuValle Community Health Center, the oldest federally qualified health center in the Commonwealth of Kentucky.   Ann is a member of several community-based Boards and Advisory Councils and currently serves as the Treasurer of the West Jefferson County Task Force Board of Directors.  She is the mother of four and grandmother of five and believes as does Oprah Winfrey, that we “are built not to shrink down into less, but to blossom into more.”

Member: Kurt D. Mason, CPESC

Currently serves as the Urban Conservationist for Kentucky with the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service. He previously served as District Conservationist with the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service in Jefferson, Bullitt and Oldham Counties, assisting private landowners and communities with natural resource related concerns. Prior to coming to this area, he worked with USDA in Eastern and Central Kentucky. Kurt was raised on a farm in Scott County, Kentucky and attended Morehead State University where he received a BS degree in plant and soil science. He holds Masters Degrees from the University of Louisville in Community Planning and Public Administration. Kurt has worked his entire 42 year career with the NRCS and is a Certified Professional Erosion and Sediment Control Specialist. His primary responsibility with NRCS is to assist urban communities across the state with natural resource related concerns and develop opportunities for them to utilize USDA programs.

Kurt currently chairs the Louisville/Jefferson County Environmental Trust, a quasi-governmental land trust organization, serves on the Board of Trustees of the Bernheim Research Forest and Arboretum, New Direction Housing Corporation Board and the West Jefferson County Community Task Force Board.

Member: Natasha DeJarnett, Ph.D., MPH, BCES 

Dr. Natasha DeJarnett (she/her) is an assistant professor in the Christina Lee Brown Envirome Institute at the University of Louisville Division of Environmental Medicine researching the health impacts of extreme heat exposure and environmental health disparities. In addition, she is a professorial lecturer in Environmental and Occupational Health at the George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health. Previously, Dr. DeJarnett was interim associate director of Program and Partnership Development at the National Environmental Health Association, leading research, climate and health, and children’s environmental health. She also previously served as a policy analyst at the American Public Health Association (APHA), where she led the Natural Environment portfolio, including air and water exposures along with climate change. In addition to the WJCCTF Board, Dr. DeJarnett is a member of the EPA’s Children’s Health Protection Advisory Committee, is chair of the Governing Board of Citizens’ Climate Education, a president-elect of the Board of Directors of Physicians for Social Responsibility, and chair-elect for APHA’s Environment Section.

Member: Greg Harris

Greg Harris is a Kentucky native and is a graduate of Eastern Kentucky University with a BBS in Business.  Greg has spent the last 20 years in the Medical field with various fortune 100 companies.  Currently employed in the Medical field as a Surgical Sales manager, Greg works directly with surgeons in the operating room exclusively.  One of his favorite quotes is by Margaret Mead “Never doubt that a small group of citizens can change the world: indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has”.

Member: Annie Haigler

Member: Bruce Sherrod

Member: Andre Richardson, Ph.D.

Andre Richardson was raised in metro-Atlanta, Georgia. He is a graduate of Nazareth College of Rochester in New York, where he was a student-athlete for the institution’s nationally ranked Division III Men’s Volleyball team and completed his Bachelor of Science degrees in Toxicology (emphasis on Molecular Toxicology) and Biology and minored in Chemistry. Andre is currently a Ph.D. graduate student at the University of Louisville’s School of Medicine, studying Pharmacology and Toxicology. His Master’s thesis and Ph.D. dissertation work focus on the toxic effects of traditional cigarette smoke, electronic cigarette aerosols, and environmental toxicants on the cardiovascular system, specifically blood clots. In his spare time, Andre enjoys cooking as well as mentoring, coaching, and playing volleyball both locally in Louisville and across the country.

Executive Director: Arnita Gadson

ARNITA GADSON, Executive Director of the West Jefferson Community Task Force, Executive Director of the Environmental Quality Commission for the Commonwealth of Kentucky retired, Environmental Justice Director, University of Louisville, retired, has a Masters in Management and Human Resources from Webster University, Louisville, Kentucky and a B.S. in education from Kentucky State University, Frankfort, Ky. President and CEO of Gadson Enterprises and Gadson Community Projects Management, Inc.

The WJCCTF meets on the third Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m., at the NIA Center.



Nia Center on 2900 West Broadway St.
Suite 218
Louisville, KY 40211
Tel: 502-548-9042 |
Email: wjcctf.lou@gmail.com

© Copyright 2024 West Jefferson County Community Task Force | Custom Website Design by CustomWeb